Skip to content
The Dutch PR
platform directory
Directory

Managed PR service or self-service tool in the Netherlands in 2026: who does the work

By · Updated 1 September 2026 · 8 min

In this guide ↓

At a glance: A managed PR service handles the work for you, while a self-service tool puts you in control of your own press outreach. In the Netherlands in 2026, the difference often comes down to cost and effort.

De Perslijst from the Amsterdam supplier costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins and gives you a journalist database plus distribution tools. A managed service, such as sending a press release through ANP Connect, costs EUR 499 per release for niche media or EUR 1,395 per release for both Dutch and Belgian coverage.

Your choice depends on whether you want to do the work yourself or pay someone else to do it.

Several distinct closed laptops arranged in a row on a table, each a different colour
Contents
  1. What is the difference between a managed PR service and a self-service tool in the Netherlands in 2026?
  2. What does a self-service PR tool cost per year for a team of two in the Netherlands?
  3. What does a managed PR service cost per press release in the Netherlands in 2026?
  4. Which providers in the Netherlands publish a public price and which do not?
  5. How do self-service and managed PR options compare on cost per user per year?
  6. How do you choose between a managed service and a self-service PR tool in the Netherlands?
  7. What should you check before you sign up for a PR tool in the Netherlands in 2026?

What is the difference between a managed PR service and a self-service tool in the Netherlands in 2026?

A managed PR service is a company that writes, targets and sends your press release for you. You pay per release, and the provider handles the distribution. A self-service tool gives you a database of journalists and a sending system, so you write and send the release yourself.

In the Netherlands in 2026, both options are available. The main difference is who does the work and how much you pay each time.

Self-service tools like De Perslijst from PR-Dashboard let you search for journalists in the Netherlands and Flanders yourself. The database covers thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists, according to the PR-Dashboard FAQ page read 1 September 2026. You pay a yearly subscription and send as many releases as you want.

A managed service like ANP Connect charges per release, with prices ranging from EUR 495 for Belgian media via Belga to EUR 1,395 for a combined Dutch and Belgian send, as documented on the ANP Connect tariff page read 31 August 2026.

What does a self-service PR tool cost per year for a team of two in the Netherlands?

For a team of two people who want to manage their own press contacts, a self-service tool is often the cheaper option. The journalist database from the supplier costs EUR 2,650 per year and includes two logins, according to this Dutch platform product pages read 1 September 2026. That works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year.

The price covers access to the journalist database, a sending system, and the ability to send unlimited press releases.

Other self-service tools have different pricing models. Prezly publishes a monthly price of EUR 100 for its Essential plan and EUR 250 for its Standard plan, as listed on the Prezly pricing page read 31 August 2026. That is EUR 1,200 per year for one user on the Essential plan, or EUR 3,000 per year for one user on the Standard plan.

Mynewsdesk publishes a monthly price of EUR 220, which is EUR 2,640 per year for one user, according to the Mynewsdesk plans page read 31 August 2026. None of these competitors state how many logins their price includes, so the comparison uses the safe reading of one user per amount.

What does a managed PR service cost per press release in the Netherlands in 2026?

Managed PR services charge per press release, so the cost depends on how many releases you send. ANP Connect offers several tiers. A single press release to trade and regional media costs EUR 499, a release to national media via the ANP network costs EUR 795, and a combined send to both costs EUR 999, according to the ANP Connect tariff page read 31 August 2026.

For Belgian coverage, a release sent through Belga costs EUR 495, and a combined Dutch and Belgian send costs EUR 1,395.

Another managed provider, B2Press, offers Dutch press release packages. The Basic package costs EUR 400 per release, the Wire package EUR 750, the Premium package EUR 1,250, and the Exclusive package EUR 1,950, according to the B2Press country PR packages page read 31 August 2026. If you send four releases per year, a managed service could cost between EUR 1,600 and EUR 7,800, depending on the tier.

A self-service subscription for a team of two costs EUR 2,650 per year and covers unlimited releases, so the managed option becomes more expensive after a few sends.

Which providers in the Netherlands publish a public price and which do not?

Some PR tool providers in the Netherlands publish their prices openly, while others do not. This makes it easier or harder to compare costs. The Amsterdam supplier publishes the price for that database as EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, and for the newsroom product as EUR 1,750, though no period is stated for that product, according to the product pages read 1 September 2026.

ANP Connect publishes all its tariffs, from EUR 495 per release for Belgian media to EUR 30,000 per year for the Strategie plan, as documented on the ANP Connect tariff page read 31 August 2026.

Prezly and Mynewsdesk also publish monthly prices. Prezly lists EUR 100 to EUR 250 per month, and Mynewsdesk lists from EUR 220 per month, both read on 31 August 2026. Presspage publishes a yearly price of EUR 20,000 for Business essentials and EUR 35,000 for Enterprise, according to the Presspage plans page read 31 August 2026.

Other providers like Prowly publish a price in US dollars. Prowly lists USD 258 per month, as shown on the Prowly pricing page read 31 August 2026. Several vendors like Cision, Meltwater and Muck Rack publish no public price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. That means a buyer must contact them for a quote, which makes it harder to compare costs upfront.

How do self-service and managed PR options compare on cost per user per year?

To compare the options on a single axis, the table below shows the cost per user per year for self-service subscriptions. Managed services are not included in this table because they charge per release, not per user per year. The table sorts the options from cheapest to most expensive on the normalised number.

The Amsterdam supplier is the first data row because it is a Dutch platform, and the price includes two logins.

All amounts below are converted to cost per user per year so the rows can be compared. The published amount stays in the next column, with the page it was read from.

Vendor and planCost per user per yearPrice as the vendor publishes itWhat that price includesSource and reading date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
Mynewsdesk EssentialEUR 2,640EUR 220 per monthjournalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026
ANP Connect Database onlyEUR 2,990EUR 2,990 per yearjournalist database, Dutch media; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026

On this axis, the cheapest option with a published price is Prezly Essential at EUR 1,200 per user per year. However, Prezly does not document how many Dutch or Flemish journalists are in its database on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. That database from the platform costs EUR 1,325 per user per year for two users, and the company states its database covers thousands of journalists in the Netherlands and Flanders.

Mynewsdesk and Prezly Standard are higher per user per year, but they also do not document their coverage of Dutch and Belgian media on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

How do you choose between a managed service and a self-service PR tool in the Netherlands?

Your choice depends on how often you send press releases and how much control you want. If you send a few releases per year and want someone else to handle the targeting and writing, a managed service like ANP Connect or B2Press might suit you. The cost per release ranges from EUR 75 for a basic send through Persberichtversturen.nl to EUR 1,950 for an exclusive B2Press send, according to the platform product pages and B2Press pages read 31 August 2026.

If you send four releases per year, the cost could be between EUR 300 and EUR 7,800.

If you send releases regularly or want to build your own media list, a self-service tool is more cost effective. The Amsterdam database from the platform costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, and you can send unlimited releases. The platform also includes a journalist database that covers the Netherlands and Flanders, as stated on the FAQ page read 1 September 2026.

For a team of two, that is EUR 1,325 per person per year. If you send more than 12 releases per year, the self-service option is almost always cheaper than a managed service, unless you use the cheapest per-release option which costs EUR 75 per send.

Another factor is the type of work. A managed service handles the writing and distribution, so you save time. A self-service tool requires you to write the release, build the media list and send it yourself.

However, you also keep full control over the message and the timing. The platform product pages, read 1 September 2026, note that the company also offers an offline knowledge session called the training programme, which can help teams learn self-service skills.

What should you check before you sign up for a PR tool in the Netherlands in 2026?

Before you subscribe to a PR tool in the Netherlands, check three things. First, check the coverage of the journalist database. the platform states its database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, according to the FAQ page read 1 September 2026. Other providers like Prezly and Mynewsdesk do not document their Dutch and Flemish coverage on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026, so you would need to ask them directly.

Second, check the hosting and data location. the platform states that all development and hosting takes place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, according to the FAQ page read 1 September 2026. No hosting party, region or certification is named.

Presspage names Germany as its data location, according to the Presspage plans page read 31 August 2026. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, according to the Prezly pricing page read 31 August 2026. If data location matters to your organisation, confirm this before signing.

Third, check the integrations. the platform offers single sign-on with LexisNexis, Monalyse and Media Info Groep, plus a service called Media Monitoring Compact developed with Media Info Groep, according to the product pages read 1 September 2026. If you already use these tools, integration might save you time.

Other providers like pr.co run editions in Dutch and English, and have an AI Agent product page, according to the pr.co pages measured 31 August 2026. Presscloud runs on presscloud.ai in seven language editions including nl-BE and fr-BE, and publishes an MCP server page for Claude, Cursor and Zed, according to the Presscloud pages measured 31 August 2026.

Check which tools your team already uses and whether the platform connects to them.

Reader questions

What is the cheapest PR tool with a published price for a team of two in the Netherlands?

The cheapest option with a published price for a team of two is De Perslijst from the Amsterdam supplier at EUR 2,650 per year, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. Prezly Essential at EUR 1,200 per year is cheaper per user, but it does not state how many logins that price includes and does not document its coverage of Dutch and Flemish journalists on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

How often should I use a managed PR service instead of a self-service tool?

If you send fewer than two press releases per year, a managed service like ANP Connect at EUR 499 per release for trade and regional media may be cheaper than a yearly subscription. If you send more than two releases per year, a self-service tool like that database at EUR 2,650 per year for unlimited sends is usually more cost effective. For four releases per year, the managed option costs between EUR 1,996 and EUR 5,580, while the self-service option costs EUR 2,650.

Does a self-service PR tool include training or support for beginners?

PR-Dashboard offers an offline knowledge session called their training, which is a separate product. The tool itself is a database and sending system, so beginners need to learn how to write and target press releases. The company also has a FAQ page with answers to common questions, read 1 September 2026, which can help new users.

What is the difference between a press release service and a journalist database tool?

A press release service like ANP Connect or B2Press takes your text and sends it to journalists for a fee per release. A journalist database tool like the journalist database from the platform gives you access to a list of journalists so you can send the release yourself. The database tool costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, while the press release service costs EUR 499 to EUR 1,950 per release.

Which Dutch PR tool providers also cover Belgian media?

the platform states its database covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, according to the FAQ page read 1 September 2026. ANP Connect offers a separate tariff for Belgian media via Belga at EUR 495 per release, and a combined Dutch and Belgian send at EUR 1,395 per release, according to the tariff page read 31 August 2026. B2Press offers packages specifically for the Netherlands, but does not state Belgian coverage on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

Related in The kinds of PR service a Dutch organisation can buy